“For more than 20 years, The Bachelor has brought the world dozens of unforgettable love stories, including at one time, my own,” Palmer, 42, gushed in a statement. “Falling in love is one of life’s greatest gifts, and I am humbled by the opportunity to return to the show as host this season to offer the newest Bachelor advice gained from firsthand experience and I am grateful to play a small part in his journey.” Palmer will step into the role that made Chris Harrisona household name in 2002. Harrison stepped back from hosting the show in February 2021 after defending Rachael Kirkconnellfor participating in a racist antebellum plantation-themed ball. “I have spent the last few days listening to the pain my words have caused, and I am deeply remorseful. My ignorance did damage to my friends, colleagues and strangers alike. I have no one to blame but myself for what I said and the way I spoke,” Harrison wrote on Instagram at the time. “I set standards for myself, and have to meet them. I feel that with every fiber of my being. Now just as I taught my children to stand up, and to own their actions, I will do the same. By excusing historical racism, I defended it. I invoked the term ‘woke police,’ which is unacceptable. I am ashamed over how uninformed I was. I was so wrong.” He added, “To the Black community, to the BIPOC community: I am so sorry. My words were harmful. I am listening, and I truly apologize for my ignorance and any pain it caused you. I want to give my heartfelt thanks to the people from these communities who I’ve had enlightening conversations with over the past few days, and I am so grateful to those who have reached out to help me on my path to anti-racism.” Following Harrison’s departure, Tayshia Adams and Kaitlyn Bristowe stepped in to host two seasons of The Bachelorette, while Wells Adamstook the reins for Bachelor in Paradise.

Who is Jesse Palmer?

Palmer has what appears to be the perfect pedigree to guide the next Bachelor and his potential mates: The former NFL star was a Bachelor back in 2004 and has been an analyst for ESPN (under the same corporate umbrella as ABC) since 2007. In 2018, Palmer hosted ABC’s The Proposal, another reality romance competition from the creators of The Bachelor. Palmer has also been a regular for other ABC hosting duties for special events, including the NFL draft.

Is Jesse Palmer married?

No. On his 2004 season of The Bachelor, Palmer gave Jessica Bowlinhis final rose, though he didn’t pop the question. The pair dated for several months after filming wrapped, but called it quits without a ring. Palmer recently got engaged to his longtime girlfriend, Brazilian model Emely Fardo.

Is Jesse Palmer the permanent Bachelor host?

It’s unclear if Palmer will host The Bachelor permanently or just for Season 26; production sources told The Hollywood Reporterit’s likely Warner Bros. and ABC will revisit Palmer’s contract each season. Production is starting at the end of September, with the season expected to air in January 2022. Next, meet the women vying for Clayton Echard’s final rose on Season 26 of The Bachelor!

Jesse Palmer is Season 26 Bachelor Host for 2022 Season that Premieres in 2022 - 9