Judges Katy Perry, Richie and Luke Bryan, who had recovered from COVID-19 and was back, were on hand to critique the performances, but voting was in America’s hands, and tonight it was live.

Who was eliminated on American Idol last night:

Madison Watkins, Beane, Ava August

Who made it through to the Top 10 on American Idol

Grace Kinstler, Casey Bishop, Willie Spence, Alyssa Wray, Caleb Kennedy, DeShawn Goncalves, Chayce Beckham, Cassandra Coleman, Hunter Metts

American Idol Top 12 performances:

Grace Kinstler, 20

Chicago, Ill. College Student Song: “Happy” by Pharrell Willams Katy: “You can sing the telephone book. But who are you as an artist? That’s what I’m trying to say.” Luke: “I am happy to see how you command the stage. You have so much bravado and all of that vocal ability. We are going to challenge you as to who you are as an artist.” Lionel: “I was saying to myself, ‘This lady is in absolute control of her sound.’ You look comfortable on that stage. What you want to do from now on is select the songs that portray who you want to be as an artist.”

Ava August, 15

Laguna Niguel, Calif. High School Student Song: “City of Stars” from La La Land Luke: “That is so amazing that at your age, you can have these mature moments. Lean on the teeny bopper stuff for fun, but what you just gave me was incredible.” Lionel: “You have managed to do something that is so difficult to do at your age, you appear as if you have done this your whole life.” Katy: “I have socks that are older than you. I want to see you be 15. I am aware [of that] when I see you in this beautiful dress and your Doc Martens. I just want you to move and take the mic off the stand. Fluid and fairy. Find a little more of being 15 while maintaining the high level. I think you will resonate with a lot of people.”

Caleb Kennedy, 16

Roebuck, S.C. High School Student Song: “On The Road Again” by Willie Nelson from Honeysuckle Rose Lionel: “I am so enjoying the fact that you are 16 years old and you are taking on Willie Nelson. Have you ever been on the road? If you keep this up, you will be on the road for a long time.” Katy: “You had that authentic grit. It came out for you.” Luke: “You really didn’t over sing yourself into any trouble. That was your best performance from top to bottom that I have seen you do. You picked the right song. You just laid that thing down from A to Z.”

Hunter Metts, 22

Franklin, Tenn. Software Developer Song: “Falling Slowly” from Once Katy: “Hunter, that was the best performance you have ever given. Perfection is an illusion. That shows that you are human and vulnerable, and everyone relates to that. It is not about perfection, it is about resonating with people, and you just did.” Luke: “It was intense for me to watch you do that. It was a series of emotions that you took me on a crazy ride. I don’t know what happened at the end. I didn’t care. You could do no wrong at the end.” Lionel: “I am going to tell you what people say to me, ‘Oh, my God, Lionel. I was there the night you forgot the lyrcis to “Hello,”’ but the crowd loved it. The crowd took over. What I am saying to you is if you had not done that, it was a perfect run. Now that you did that, it was absolutely a perfect run.”

Madison Watkins, 25

Fayetteville, Ark. Hair Model Song: “Run to You” by Whitney Houston from Bodyguard Luke: “Always solid performances from you. I was so glad Lionel, Paula and Katy brought you back last week. Way to go.” Lionel: “You had a lot of pressure on you, but you stepped up to the plate.” Katy: “That was an A-level performance. I am glad you take it up every week.”

Chayce Beckham, 24

Apple Valley, Calif. Heavy Machinery Operator Song: “(Everything I Do) I Do It For You” by Bryan Addams from Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves Lionel: “The second half, you found yourself. Give us all of you from now on.” Katy: “I don’t know who you were singing that for, but I bet there are a lot of young ladies out there that thought it was for them. You delivered it authentically. That was an unusual song choice for you. Thanks for taking to the next level.” Luke: “I am so inspired by how much you have grown since the auditions. Your ability to be yourself and deliver songs, I think you are the frontrunner.”

Beane, 23

Boston, Mass. Wedding Singer Song: “(I’ve Had the) Time of My Life from Dirty Dancing Katy: “Another side of Beane that I haven’t seen. Keep pulling those cards out. This could get a little cheesy, but you held the line.”

Alyssa Wray, 18

Perryville, Ky. College Student Song: “This is Me” from The Greatest Showman Lionel: “I was praying through the entire performance, “Hold it.” You are such a force. We know when the guns go off, it is going to be amazing. You held it.”

DeShawn Goncalves, 19

Cleveland, Ohio College Student Song: “The Way We Were” by Barbra Streisand from The Way We Were Luke: “That was absolutely beautiful. It was classy. It felt like I was in a time capsule that I want to go back and stay there forever. I was caught up in the minute. You did absolutely what you need to do to get America to vote for you.”

Casey Bishop, 15

Estero, Fla. High School Student Song: “Over the Rainbow” by Judy Garland from The Wizard of Oz Katy: “You can do anything you want. To switch it up at the end, what a wild card. It is all inside of you and it is so beautiful. I think maybe Casey is the frontrunner.” Luke: “I think you can sing anything you want. Keep us guessing and surprise us.”

Cassandra Coleman, 24

Columbia, Tenn. Coffee Shop Manager Song: “Writing’s on the Wall” by Sam Smith from Spectre Luke: “When you went into that moment of pride that Lionel talks about, it was some of the most amazing stuff I’ve heard on this show. I watched your performance last week from home, and it was okay. When you give a performance like you gave tonight, you have fans that have your back.” Lionel: “All I am going to say is you bring us in. Enjoy this. I picked the winner already. I have five of them. One of them is going to win.” Katy: “Never forget. You are not what the world thinks of you. You are what you think of you.”

Willie Spence, 21

Douglas, Ga. Caretaker Song: “Stand Up” by Cynthia Erivo from Harriet Lionel: “First word, ‘Amen,’ second word, ‘Religious experience,’ and third, ‘You delivered.’ Congratulations.” Katy: “I stand with you. That was so powerful. Thank you for taking all of the emotion of this week and using it in this song. That cuts through the darkness.” Luke, “You taught me to never use the word frontrunner again until the whole show is done.” American Idol airs Monday and Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC. Next, Make Your Vote Count! How to Vote on American Idol 2021

American Idol Results  Who Was Eliminated Last Night and Who Made the Top 10  2021  - 52